How many things at a time?

Feb_15 038Ediimail brought up an interesting topic: can we still focus on one thing at a time?

While I was replying to dear Martina’s intro letter I paid more attention on the whole proccess of writing. What I’m doing in so called “meantime”, when I’m writing a letter. Instead of doing one thing at the time I was chatting with friends on WhatsApp, eating dinner, checking my facebook notifications, going through Instagram pictures, talking with my sister… WHY? WHAT’S FOR?

It rang a bell with me. While I usually focus on the letterwriting process for a while, I don’t sit as long as the letter is finished. I get distracted. A lot. This happens not with social media for me – that later is my challenge when working/writing at the PC – but with other things: my cat, hunger, thirst, looking out of the window or thinking I need to do something particular like sorting some paper or checking some detail about travelling or just about anything.

There is always a zillion of thoughts in my head.

How can we escape? I already have my mobile phone on silent often and I try to be online only twice a day. And only on workdays.

I really wonder what is going on with us.

Ediimail article is here.

3 thoughts on “How many things at a time?

  1. I always loved to multitask but a few years ago I gave up on it. Due to HSP (I think this will ring a bell with Edii) I love to do just one thing at a time right now and focus on just that. It makes me much happier… and we don’t need it (even if we think/thought we would). But we often are too hard on ourselves: we need to be that superwoman 😉

  2. Letter writing for me is actually the one thing I do not multi task and find it amazing for the shut off down time.
    Meditation practice really has helped me learn to calm my brain.
    Sx

  3. That’s two very clever comments: we can give up to be superwoman and the hint to meditation. I want to relax and focus that way. 🙂
    It even happens while swimming: I swim in a really nice place, trees, sunshine, ducks – and what happens? My head goes round a zillion things. Do I burn enough fat? What will I do first today at my desk? And so on.
    Gee.

    But I’m relieved other people have this thing going on, too.

Leave a Reply

